Door.

You left the door open, and I shut it.

You left for your morning walk, I prepared my first cup of tea. I opened the window and let the pleasant winter wind ruffle my hair and refresh my senses.

Again, you left the door open, and I shut it.

You returned from the morning walk and changed into your formal attire to go sit once again in front of the computer screen. I prepared your lunch.

Once again, you left the door open, and I shut it.

You took your daily cab to office and I was now free. I switched on the TV, changing channels, not being able to decide on one, eventually shifting to the newspaper.

Your usual afternoon call didn’t wake me up from my nap today, and when I did wake up, I was hungry and late for cooking your dinner. The grocery shopping remained forgotten.

I prepared dinner in a haste, glancing at the clock tick-ticking on the wall with one eye. You would be here any moment.  In fact, to my luck, you were slightly late.

The door bell rang and I expected you to come in, leaving the door open for me to shut it. But when I called out and asked who it was, I only found out that this time,

You shut the door so firmly, I could no longer open it.

2 thoughts on “Door.

Leave a Reply

