My daughter’s first love.

After ages, I was back here. In this world of technology, who had the luxury of silently spending hours here? I had a million memories of the place. As I stood there among my long lost friends, I heard her calling out to me. It was my daughter. I had brought her here to pass on all my memories to her. I suddenly felt a vibe of happiness. She had just shared all her new found joy with me. I saw the love in her eyes. I saw her admiring the place.

Back in my young days, my heart would ache to be in this place. I had to fight, I had to cry, I had to convince my dad for a long time.

I won’t let this happen to my daughter, not my daughter, I thought to myself.

She suddenly held my hand so tightly that I was jerked back into reality. She grabbed my hand and ran forward, half-dragging me with her.

‘This is the one,’ she shouted out loud.

I had tears in my eyes. Tears that were a mixture of both joy and sadness. Joy, for my daughter had found her first love. Sadness, for I had not guessed that she’d grown up so much already. I stroked her back and whispered in her ears, ‘Lovely choice, darling.’

She hugged me, picked up that red book and gave it to me to buy for her. I had not realised that my daughter had grown up so much. When had she turned five? When had she, like me, fallen in love with
reading?

One thought on “My daughter’s first love.

Leave a Reply

