The Pangs of Despised Love.

I was sitting in the classroom, trying to fit in with the group of girls who were not better than me in any way, or even different. I was just worried I wouldn’t fit in, and so I didn’t. I gave them all of me and they rejected me.
Years later I realise, had I been slightly more self confident, I would not have been rejected.

In my late teens, I went to my younger brother to hug him tightly and congratulate him on being selected in the football team. He pushed me away. I was already wondering if he would, because even though I was now popular at school but not one of my brother’s favorite seniors. I gave him all of me, and he rejected me.
Years later, I realise had I made sure he loved me, I would not have been rejected.

My crush. I really, really, really liked him. I would talk to him all day and had so many memories with him. I never told him I liked him, because I thought I could never get him. He dated somebody else. I gave him all of me, and he rejected me.
Years later I realise, had I told him I loved him, I would not have been rejected.

I went to my best friend’s cat and tried to pet it. It scratched my face. I found her really cute and wanted to make a rapport. But animals didn’t like me. I gave it all of me, and it rejected me.
Years later I realise, had I not convinced myself that it wouldn’t like me, I would not have been rejected.

Pangs of despised love hit you, when you despise yourself.
I never gave myself all of me, and I rejected myself.
Let’s leave behind this fear of rejection and fall in love with our own selves, so that when the world tries to reject us, it cannot.

One thought on “The Pangs of Despised Love.

Leave a Reply

